baby showering!

One of my absolute favorite things during a baby shower is hearing the women in unison after every single gift say… “AWWWW!” I mean when you get a group of women together to open gifts for little people, it’s almost an innate reaction that you can’t even help to let slip from your lips. What’s even funnier is that this continues– after every single gift! I guess we as women love pretty little things- no matter if it’s a little polo shirt, little socks, or little pajamas. I mean little things just eat at your heart! I can’t help it either!

My co-worker is due next week with her second child, but first boy. So some of my other co-workers and I planned a baby shower for her at our school! I decided to take on the sweets portion of the shower (because let’s be honest, everyone knows that’s my favorite) and cupcakes are always first on the list for party food in my book. I wanted to do something boy-ish and blue-ish to go with our theme, so I came up with blue velvet cupcakes! No, it’s not a typo. BLUE VELVET! Genius.

But as I mentioned above…we as women like pretty little things. So my cupcakes couldn’t just be any ordinary cupcakes, they had to be pretty ones. I decided to fancy them up by putting come cupcake toppers on top! So below, I am gifting you not only the recipe I used, but also the document for the cupcake toppers! Your welcome:)

Blue Velvet Cupcakes

Blue Velvet Cupcakes:

Makes 18 Cupcakes

  • 2 sticks of unsalted butter (at room temperature OR my secret: defrost them in the microwave for a couple of seconds until they soften)
  • 1½ cups of sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons blue food coloring (I only had 1 tbsp, so mine are a little less blue)
  • 2½ cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt (I use sea salt- that’s a little secret ingredient that makes a big difference)
  • 1 cup buttermilk (if you don’t have it, you can mix 1 tbsp of lemon juice or white vinegar to plain milk)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon vinegar

Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 2 sticks of butter (at room temperature OR my secret: defrost them in the microwave for a couple of seconds until they soften)
  • 1 package of cream cheese (8oz.)
  • 5 cups of powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of vanilla extract

Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350° F &  place paper liners into muffin pans.

2. In an electric mixer (or a bowl with a hand mixer) beat butter and sugar on high until light and fluffy.

3. Add eggs and food coloring and continue beating at medium speed until well combined.

4. In a separate bowl mix together flour, cocoa power, baking soda, and salt.

5. In an additional separate cup or bowl pour all the wet ingredients together: buttermilk, vanilla, vinegar.

6. Alternatively add the milk mixture and the dry flour mixture with the butter mixture until all has been added and well combined.

7. Spoon into the muffin tins at about ¾ full.

8. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Cool before frosting!

9. Frosting: beat butter and cream cheese together at high speed for 5 minutes. On low speed add powdered sugar a cup at a time until combined. Add vanilla. If it is too runny, add more powdered sugar. If it is too thick, add a little milk or cream.

It’s A Boy! Cupcake Toppers Freebie:

It's A Boy Cupcake Topper Freebie

For the cupcake toppers I cut out the circles from the document below (can you tell I LOVE different fonts?!). I simply glued them to pretty scrapbook paper and then use scalloped and regular scissors to cut them out. Before cutting though, I made sure to choose a big enough piece of paper to be able to fold the paper underneath the glued circle cut-out so that I would have two of the exact same size scalloped circles. Then I inserted a clear toothpick between the two pieces of paper and hot glued them together with the toothpick in the middle! Easy as that!

Click the link below to download the PDF freebie.

It’s a boy cupcake toppers

Even if you don’t have a baby shower in sight…make the blue velvet cupcakes to switch it up! Even though I’m a Georgia Bulldawg at heart, change up the red to make it interesting! Green for St. Patrick’s Day would be fun! ♣

Blue Velvet Cupcakes and It's a Boy Cupcake Toppers

Signature

2 thoughts on “baby showering!

Leave a Reply

